PDA

View Full Version : How often do you SMT in the winter?

Long_hair_bear
February 4th, 2014, 10:38 AM
Hey all!

Due to my hair's love of drying out in the winter, I'm considering doing weekly SMTs. How often do you do them in the winter? Do you think weekly is a good idea? :rolleyes:

muddblood21
February 4th, 2014, 10:58 AM
I am relatively new to SMT, but my hair LOVES a bi-monthly SMT. I have been doing it since about October. I think it is kind of it as an "at home, spa type, de-stress" kind of treat for me AND my hair. lol

Katrine
February 4th, 2014, 11:23 AM
After the Fall temps (and dryness) set in I started doing SMT more frequently. It's once a week now and my length appreciates it. Since my hair is feeling better, I may go back to every other week.

Stiria
February 4th, 2014, 11:51 AM
I used to do weekly deep treatments all year round, but after I began CO washing I found that my hair didn't need it anymore. I think you should try it, if your hair feels dry. If it works, then great. If it dosen't, you could aways try to do them every other week, or once a month. How often do you do them now?

Johannah
February 4th, 2014, 12:05 PM
My hair doesn't like SMT, so I'm not doing it, but when my hair got dry because of the weather I did deep treatments every week. You'll notice if your hair likes it or not. It's definitely not a 'problem' to do it every week though!

sarahthegemini
February 4th, 2014, 12:19 PM
I don't do deep treatments/smt type things at all regardless of what time of year it is. I co-wash, use a rich RO and a proteiny LI and that's all my hair needs.

Firefox7275
February 4th, 2014, 01:01 PM
Never, I use more oils/ lipids in winter.

Marika
February 4th, 2014, 01:29 PM