PDA

View Full Version : Aqua-fitness and hair - questions

DancingQueen
February 3rd, 2014, 03:57 PM
I have started to take some aqua fitness lessons once a week (45 minutes each), and I am really enjoying them. But I have a few questions for you guys.

1) How much damage will this kind of exposure do to my hair?
2) Would it be okay to shampoo, condition and blow-dry my hair afterwards? (Other than that, I air dry, and I wash 2-3 times a week)
3) Currently, I am doing a cinnamon bun with regular bobby pins. Is there a more hair-friendly solution? (my hair is between APL and BSL)

I know I could wear a swimming cap, but I kind of don't feel like it, as none else does, and it is not really swimming, but fitness in the water. Thank you in advance. :)

G1ll
February 3rd, 2014, 04:23 PM
I'm a lifeguard/swim instructor, and I'm in a chlorinated pool at least three times a week, so I have quite a bit of experience dealing with chlorine in hair. To answer your questions...
1) How much damage will this kind of exposure do to my hair?
Chlorine is gonna dry out your hair, no matter how much TLC you give it. So expect some dryness.
2) Would it be okay to shampoo, condition and blow-dry my hair afterwards? (Other than that, I air dry, and I wash 2-3 times a week)
YES! You are going to need to shampoo, asap after, I would follow up with a conditioner because it will add some softness. Chlorine is quite difficult to get out of the hair. I've read that club soda can get it out but I'm skeptical. I personally don't blow dry my hair at all but if you like it, go ahead.
3) Currently, I am doing a cinnamon bun with regular bobby pins. Is there a more hair-friendly solution? (my hair is between APL and BSL)
I would say that the style you've got going on now is pretty good. Anything that keeps your hair neat and knot free is good. You could braid it if you're looking for a different style.