PDA

View Full Version : What is indigo?

Long_hair_bear
February 2nd, 2014, 10:33 PM
Hey chappies! Forgive my noob question, but I searched the threads and couldn't find a satisfactory answer. What is indigo? What color does it turn your hair? Does it apply like henna? Do you need to do more than one application? Where do you get it?

Thanks in advance!

Loviatar
February 2nd, 2014, 10:46 PM
Indigo is a b*stard ;)

Rule 1: it does not bleach out. Ever. Ask me how I know. Twice.

It's the ground up leaves of indigofera tinctoria plants. It yields a blue dye. Bright blue. If applied on top of henna in a two step process it gives black hair (or very very dark brown in my first whole head application.) if mixed with henna it pushes Henna red more towards brown shades. But I find it is hard to work with. I wanted to keep my first-application dark brown, was a total noob so didn't do roots-only, and so after two full heads I had pure black.. Which I was then stuck with. Until I tried to bleach it out. I'll find a photo and show you what happened!

It does work for many folks. But not me.

It smells worse than henna IMO, powder is bright green and having it on my head makes me feel nauseated, especially on an empty stomach. It is harder to apply because it's like wet sand. You can mix xanthan gum into it to make application easier.

You can get it from most henna vendors, mehandi, henna boy, henna sooq I think.

It does not bleach out... Have I mentioned this?!

Lissandria
February 3rd, 2014, 05:15 AM
Indigo is very tricky and very fickle. It is very sensitive to pH- it will render itself useless (ie little colour deposit) with the slightest acidity. Sometimes it will stick really well in two-step root applications, other times it will not for no apparent reason.

In favour of indigo- the two-step henndigo brown/black is very natural looking, completely different from conventional black hair dye which usually looks very false IMO.

Hairitic
February 3rd, 2014, 06:40 AM