PDA

View Full Version : red to blonde (?), color oops, and seborrheic dermatitis

captainjanuary
February 2nd, 2014, 01:34 AM
I'm afraid this is going to be a bit dear diary, sorry!

My hair is light ash blonde (my hair colorist has looked at my roots and called them 8, and treats them like grays :() and I've been dying it red since fall 2012. I usually used boxes, but I went to the salon every once in a while. Lately I've been going to the salon every time.

The problem now is that I've developed seborrheic dermatitis and the keto shampoo that my dermatologist has given me is HORRIBLE for retaining my hair color. On the other hand, the SD is something I need to treat because it is causing hair loss around my hairline. I think I developed the SD when I started using sulfate free shampoos-- it seems that my scalp (if not my hair, sadly) really needs the thorough scrubbing that sulfates provide.

My hair was the healthiest when I graduated from college (four years ago) and was washing it vigorously with head and shoulders. This is what it looks like naturally:

http://i60.tinypic.com/24wvn1z.jpg

http://i62.tinypic.com/9r25ue.jpg

*sigh* It was the product of several years of benign neglect (no highlights or heat styling).

I decided to go red again (I had red hair in my teens) in 2012, and I love it! So. so. much.

http://i57.tinypic.com/28ixpvs.jpg

However, I started to have some hair loss from SD/stress:

http://i58.tinypic.com/2db5xer.jpg

And I've had to get it cut because it was so thin.

Right now I'm teetering on the edge of using a box of Color Oops to get rid of the red (I did a test and, surprisingly, it did this fairly well) and start going back to my natural color because:

1. I can't take care of my scalp properly and have a nice red color.

2. Red is SO high maintenance, and I'm sick of it looking nice for a while and then having my blonde roots grow out and make me look like I'm balding/there's nothing there.