PDA

View Full Version : How often do you use oil treatments on your hair?

FallingDarkness
January 27th, 2014, 05:40 PM
I'm pretty new to all of this, and EXTREMELY new to this site. I've been using coconut oil, occasionally mixing it with olive oil, on my hair once a week, leaving it in overnight (shower caps for the win) and shampooing it out in the morning. But how do you tell how often you should oil your hair? Does it just depend on the person? Are there oils out there that are better than the ones I am using? Yeah, I'm very questioning. Just want to make sure I'm on the right path! :) Thanks.

neko_kawaii
January 27th, 2014, 05:47 PM
You really have to experiment to find out what works best for your hair in terms of which oils and how often. What seems to work best for MY hair is an overnight oiling once a week, but I don't always think that far ahead so it comes out to every couple weeks or even once a month.

ravenheather
January 27th, 2014, 05:58 PM
I use neelibringhadi oil overnight every other night. It reduces shedding for me. I am going to try to stretch my washes out to every three days though.

jupiterinleo
January 27th, 2014, 06:03 PM
Totally depends on the person. Different oils work differently on everybody. Some people's hair hates coconut oil; some put it on every night. You just have to figure out what your hair likes best. :)

I'll add because you and I have similar hair types: My hair tends to have oil build-up easily, so I only add at most twice a week--when I get out of the shower, and if I put it in a braid for the day (just to smooth it). I mostly use olive oil, I sometimes use coconut oil.

molljo
January 27th, 2014, 06:09 PM