PDA

View Full Version : I had to cut back to shoulder/neck...

grimsqueaker
January 25th, 2014, 09:18 PM
So, the last 2-4 inches of my hair were really crispy and felt like straw, despite the fact that I've been oiling them daily and deep conditioning weekly for about 5 months now. Well, they frustrated me immensely, and I just got my first real pair of hair shears, like, a few hours ago.

So I decided to test them on a little bit of the underside of my longer layers, just out of curiosity. Well, that "little bit" grew, and grew, until it encompassed my whole head. Now it's too short to do anything other than a stubby ponytail, not even that thing where you start to make a ponytail, but don't pull it all the way through on the last step. (I'm sure that there's a name for it...)
BUT my ends are so soft, I just can't stop feeling them. Sure, my hair is significantly shorter than before, (It was an inch away from APL) but at least I don't cringe whenever I touch my ends anymore.

And there are no words for how happy that makes me. Whilst I'm still hoping for solid APL by my 16th in the middle of April, but if that doesn't happen, well, it will be the price I pay for soft ends. And at this point, that's just fine with me. :D

woodswanderer
January 25th, 2014, 09:49 PM
:blossom:Glad you are happy with how it turned out.

Micayla47
January 25th, 2014, 11:48 PM
aahh yes the eternal struggle: length or good ends :confused:

hairpleasegrow
January 26th, 2014, 12:32 AM
I feel for you i just did a huge chop in December my hair was just like how you described yours (like straw) and brittle and crackily....even though it is hard to cut back the length but better to start afresh for 2014 !! just take care of your freshly cut ends (i've read cat nip rinses are very good for preventing split ends...i havent tried it yet but i have been meaning to)

Wosie
January 26th, 2014, 01:32 AM