PDA

View Full Version : How to protect hair from sun?

Snorman
January 22nd, 2014, 05:57 AM
Maybe there already is a thread for this, I'm not really good at seraching here..

Well.. I'm wondering; This summer I will be going to visit my friend in Turkey. Last years she was in Rhodes and when I visited her there, my hair sort of fell apart (not literally, but it felt like it...).
So to be prepared for whenever my trip will be;
How do I best protect my hair from sun, pool water and salty ocean water?
I mean, I can use a hat when I'm not i the pool or sea, but I don't really feel like taking a shower cap with me to the beach, sexy as it may be...
How do I prevent my hair from breaking and getting damaged during those hot hot hot days?

DweamGoiL
January 22nd, 2014, 06:15 AM
When I go on vacation, I usually bring with me my trusty Monoi Oil and apply whenever I am in the sun, pool, ocean...whatever. Before going in the ocean or pool, I also apply conditioner to my hair and braid it. Every few hours, I reapply conditioner sort of like what you do with your skin when sunbathing. If there is a freshwater shower nearby, I will dampen my hair sporadically and reapply conditioner. And, as soon as I am able to, wash with a gentle shampoo to get all the stuff (sand, product, dust, etc.) out of it. During vacations, I wear either braids or buns a lot just to get the hair out of the way since you tend to be more active and not have as much access to 'me' time.

Snorman
January 22nd, 2014, 06:59 AM
Would some sort of oil, like coconut, work the same way as a conditioner? I try to use as much natural stuff as possible for my hair. :)
And what is Monoi oil? never heard of it! :)

DweamGoiL
January 22nd, 2014, 07:08 AM