PDA

View Full Version : The Grapefruit Challenge

DancingQueen
January 16th, 2014, 01:17 PM
So, who is up for a new experiment in a new year? I read up on different ways to speed up growth, and stumbled upon grapefruit. Aside from tons of vitamins and minerals in there, is also contains high amounts of spermidine, which should aide in hair growth by "Promoting hairs haft elongation and prolonged hair growth in the anagen phase" (you can read about it in the link I will post at the bottom; I am no expert on this yet). Spermidine is only found in higher concentrations in sperm, but the grapefruit is somewhat more appealing to me.

So, since I am bored, and would like to do a new experiment with my hair, I thought, why not. There is tons of ways you can use it; you can use the oil, put it in a hair mask, or eat it to gain all the other benefits from it. It supposedly reduces the risk of some types of cancer greatly, aides in weight loss, and maybe even grow your hair!

Personally, I am going to eat 1 grapefruit per day. Since it is very sour, I blend it with the berries of 1/2 a Pomegranate and 1/4 of a pineapple. It gets you around 400 ml smoothie, and it tastes bittersweet, but actually pretty good.

Be careful though; Grapefruit might increase the effect if you are on any kind of medication, so you might want to check with a doctor first if you are taking anything.

So, anyone want to join me in this experiment? Let me know what you think of it, and how you are going to use the grape fruits. :)

The thread that inspired me: http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=588807

ositarosita
January 16th, 2014, 01:21 PM
I'm in ......I have fresh juice guy around the block and I can a liter of fresh grapefruit juice a day ... I find grapefruit to be DELICIOUS so I guess I have been kinda doing this anyway lol good to know it might actually be doing something for my hair

lunalocks
January 16th, 2014, 01:22 PM