PDA

View Full Version : Natural Hair Color Banding

blace
January 13th, 2014, 09:19 AM
Weird thing...

Last night I was searching for grey hairs (I'm only 25, but already my younger sisters/cousins have them) and came across something really strange.
I have been growing out my natural color for about 8 months after years of bleach/dye. As my hair is only shoulder length, a good majority of my length is now virgin.

Anyways, while looking for these grey hairs (which I'm strangely excited about getting), I found a strand or two that had some sort of weird color banding going on.
Occurring too close to my scalp to be the remnants of dye, a few of my typically level 5 chestnut-y brown strands were striped with bands of a much lighter (and more golden) color. There were about three bands of color, close to the root, each between <0.25" and 0.5" in length.
Throughout my hair, and especially near my hairline, I do have lighter stands mixed in but they are all solid in color. I have seen hair banded with grey before on the heads of other individuals, but never anything like this.

I searched the internet to no avail and was wondering if anyone else on here had ever seen or experienced anything like this. Also...the cause? Products, stress, nutrient intake, something else? Is this just the strand starting to loose color and go grey? In my search, I did not come across any grey hairs.

I really wish that I had a microscope to look at these strands more closely or could at least photograph the occurrence for you all.

ouseljay
January 13th, 2014, 10:33 AM
I do get hairs that seem to have changed color (lighter to darker, or darker to lighter, or redder/less red) and back, but I don't know the cause. Perhaps someone who knows something about the physiology of hair color will chime in. I wonder if it's something as simple as some parts of my head getting more sun than others, so the hairs on those parts are more likely to lighten?