PDA

View Full Version : Trouble after clarifying for the first time

Soltimus
January 10th, 2014, 12:56 PM
Now I bought a clarifying shampoo from Herbal Essences the other day. I've never used a clarifying shampoo before in my life but I thought what the heck. Normally I use a body and hair bar from Pure Nuff Stuff. Really brilliant with no weird things in them so my sensitive skinned self and husband can have a break from itching, eczema etc. It works wonders and after switching to this product I've noticed my skin reacts badly to conventional shampoos and soaps as my face will feel burny and turn red after use.

Anyway. I clarified because I heard people say it's a handy thing to do once a month or so, and I figured the hippie shampoo bar might leave something interesting on my hair after a while. I used the shampoo yesterday morning and my scalp started itching not long after I got out of the shower, and it is still itching as we speak. Also my hair is super greasy already. I wash my hair every three days as I'm in the process of stretching washes, and my hair will generally look really nice the day after I shampoo. But not this time.

Did I choose a brand that was too harsh? I thought using this once in a while wouldn't be a problem. Sometimes I've used a more conventional shampoo if I've run out of the other stuff I use with "only" the redness and burning as a side effect for a few hours.
Can anyone recommend a different brand or product to use for clarifying instead?

DweamGoiL
January 10th, 2014, 01:30 PM