PDA

View Full Version : What to use instead of elastics & bobby pins?

cranberrymoonz
January 7th, 2014, 07:09 AM
Hi everyone:)

I've been hanging around the forum for a quite a few years now, I know all of youtube's hairstyles by heart, lol. But I still can't seem to figure out any protective hair styles that work for me.

Even though I love the intricate look on others, I'm not really into hairsticks/forks and such. Mainly because I don't like styles where I have all of my in a bun at the back of my head. So I'm looking for other styles and means of securing those styles that are protective/not damaging. I'm 19 by the way, so I'm looking for more of a young/fashionable style.

Right now I wear top knot style sock buns a lot, as well as high ponies half ups with a barret (the snappy one's.. sometimes hair get's stuck in them:(). I try to use soft metal free elastics, are those OK? I do use bobby pins for the sock bun. Could I use something else? I heard about spin pins.

Any help or suggested would be very much appreciated:):)

EDIT to add: my hair is straight, and almost MBL

Magalo
January 7th, 2014, 07:17 AM
Sticks and forks don't have to look intricate. A single stick in a loose lazy wrap is very casual, sometimes I take a short stick and make it on top of my head so it's visible from the front. Do you like braids? I wear french and dutch braids a lot and people always comments on them. I'm 20, btw. All your hair in a bun is THE most protective hairstyle, so you either learn to like it, or you don't and your hair get a lot more damaged than someone who wears buns all the time.

Just avoid buns made with an elastic like plague. And wearing a half-up is not more protective than all your hair down. Sock buns are really damaging to me (I always end up with very dry and crinkled end) but your experience may vary: I don't see it as a protective hair style.

Firefox7275
January 7th, 2014, 07:31 AM