PDA

View Full Version : All I've ever wanted is dark blue hair...

sabrinaclrke
January 5th, 2014, 02:21 AM
I need the color experts help!
Some background: I'm trying to grow my hair as long as it can, so I don't want to use any kind of chemicals on it.
I've been hennaing my hair for the past two years, and recently I've been using indigo. I first did 2 packets of indigo to one packet of henna, which resulted in a very dark auburn brown (as shown in my profile picture). Then, I did the two step henna then indigo to try to get blue-black hair, but it turned out a pretty dark brown. It did not turn my hair pitch-black as I expected, though... it still had red tints in it in bright light.
So I mixed blue manic panic with conditioner to tone out the red. So as of right now my hair is dark brown with most of the red toned out.
As everyone knows blue over red = ewwww mucky brown. (I've unfortunately experienced this while experimenting with blue manic panic over deep ginger colored henna hair)
But, I really want a deep blue color, hence why I indigoed my hair. Like a dark navy blue (blue-black) But I'm not sure if the blue will show up, so I'm asking for some expertise advice.

I bought three different kinds of blue deposit only dye.
Manic Panic Atomic Turquoise Amplified (I wanted Midnight Blue but it was sold out :( )
Adore Creative Image Indigo Blue *not sure if it has chemicals in it??*
Punky Atlantic Blue

I'm going to clarifying my hair before I try any of them, but does anyone have any tips or tricks to get hair bluer?

I was thinking of using color oops, but won't that just make the red from the henna come out?

Also, if anyone has any recommendations to which blue deposit only dye works best on brown hair I would greatly appreciate it~!

I might be willing to try a gentle chemical dye to achieve this (but not sure how that would react with indigo), if anyone knows a good dye for navy blue hair, or something of that sort.