View Full Version : Dyed hair identity - How do you see yourself?

Wisé
January 1st, 2014, 09:53 AM
Hey guys,
after having never colored my hair even once in my life, I started hennaing my ashblonde hair to a subtle red shine roughly a year ago.
I got many compliments on it, but in the synthetic light of my own apartment it appears to be rather gold blonde with no hints of red whatsoever.
Sooo I still think of myself as a blonde while strangers sometimes address me as red-haired.

This made me wonder, how do you people think of yourself after having colored your hair? Your original or your new color?
Please share your experience with me on how long you have had your color and how you identify yourself with it.

blue_eyes
January 1st, 2014, 10:06 AM
I've got dark blonde hair naturally, but I never felt like a blonde. I've been dyeing my hair very dark brown, almost black, for about 7 years and that has definitely become the color I identify myself with. I've been told it suits me really well.

Whenever I've been asked if it's my natural color I've told people that my hair was actually a level 7 blonde color, and they are stunned. I've heard "I can't imagine you blonde!" countless times haha. It just isn't me, I'm meant to have dark hair :P Now that I've had dark hair for so long, everyone associates me with that color.

tbonita
January 1st, 2014, 10:16 AM
I've been every color of the rainbow (literally), and I still feel like my brunette self deep down ;)

Even now while on straight henna, my hair is like brown with a red tinge indoors, and I feel like more myself than I have in years. Of course in the sun it burns bright, but since it's natural, it feels more in time with my natural color; ie, enhancing it, not changing.

Bruiser
January 1st, 2014, 10:21 AM