PDA

View Full Version : Henna to platinum blonde: is it possible?

islaval
December 29th, 2013, 10:53 PM
Hey everyone! My hair is naturally medium brown, and I have been dying it with henna for the past four years. I use 100% body art quality henna, so artificial dye has never touched my hair. The last time I dyed my hair was July 2013. I love my hair color, but it's time for a change. I think I'd like to go blonde- really blonde. I understand that henna is permanent, but is it possible to bleach henna out without completely damaging my hair? My hair is halfway down my back and I don't want to lose any length.

Lyv
December 29th, 2013, 11:10 PM
I think you'd end up with a lot of damage if you managed to bleach out the henna especially since you've been doing it for so long. It's very permanent for most people and even after bleaching I think it still tends to be a little orangey.

butterflybutton
December 30th, 2013, 12:07 AM
I'd highly recommend not to until the henna is grown out. Any colour with hydrogen peroxide (even some without) can have a terrible reaction to the henna. Even if there is no reaction your hair will be in terrible condition, or very orange, not to mention that the majority of hairstylist will not risk the high chance of reaction.

Your best bet will be to take a clipping of your hair into the salon you wish to get to do your hair and get them to do a strand test for you.

islaval
December 30th, 2013, 12:33 AM
Thanks for the advice... I figured as much. I suppose I'll speak to my hairstylist and go from there. Does anyone know of any henna to blonde success stories?

Agnieszka
December 30th, 2013, 01:40 AM
I put couple of blonde highlights to my year old henna and colour turned up great (no red or orange undertones) but had to cut an inch due to immediate split ends. Till now I have to keep trimming blonde bits as they constantly split. My natural colour is light ash brown. I wouldn't do it.

Flor
December 30th, 2013, 03:01 AM