PDA

View Full Version : Can't decide on cutting my hair...

DancingGirl
December 28th, 2013, 02:43 AM
I'm so confused as to whether or not I should microtrim away the damage or cut off majority of it at once. My hair just reached armpit length which is the longest it's been in a long time, but it looks scraggly. For about a year I have been microtrimming because I didn't want to lose length. When I look in the mirror though I'm just so unhappy with what I see. Cutting it to shoulder or just above would get rid of most and the worst of the damage. I was at that length for so long and I really don't want to go back. Maybe I could maintain at this length, but at the same time I would love to be over and done with the damage. I'm so confused:confused: any advice would be so helpful

SleepyTangles
December 28th, 2013, 03:29 AM
Argh, I'm not good with this kind of choices, either :(.
Are you recovering from mayor damage, or this is just regular thinning? If its damage, I'd trim just to keep it from spreading. If its regular thinning, I'd give your hair another season or even two to thicken up, to see if things get better :).

DancingGirl
December 28th, 2013, 03:36 AM
It's a lot of old damage back from when I used to chemical dye and use heat daily. Why did I ever do all that :doh:

CurlMonster
December 28th, 2013, 03:48 AM
I'm in a pretty similar situation to you. I have healthy hair down to about collar bone length, and the rest is damaged from bleach, dye, heat, and general abuse. I have chosen to keep my hair longer and regularly micro trim the ends until the healthy hair grows down. I know I would be unhappy if I went for a big chop. The micro trimming has been very successful, and the ends are definitely thickening up. I'm also surprised by how much better the ends feel now that they are properly moisturised - they are still damaged, but much softer and easier to detangle.