PDA

View Full Version : My experience with the brazilian blow dry

bananagirl
December 26th, 2013, 09:52 AM
Hello everybody, I'm new to LHC, I've been looking after my hair for the past 7 months and hope to continue my healthy hair journey with you all in the new year :)

I just wanted to share my experience with the brazilian blow dry (BBD). I know that LHC are quite anti-chemical, and I am as well to an extent. But I needed to do something about my hair which was getting me really down.

What is a BBD? So for those of you who are unfamiliar, its a semi-permanent treatment that aims to give you frizz free hair. Your hair will revert back to its normal state in 3-4 months. It's not a hair straightening treatment. If you have curly hair, then your curly will reduce by half. Wavy hair will probably get close to straight. But volume and healthy shine is retained. They claim that it makes your hair healthier, because it uses keratin, but I wouldn't be naive to believe that. The only way it makes it healthier is because you stop using heat styling tools afterwards. Here is the process of the treatment, i think each salon varies, but this is what happened with me :) http://www.brazilianblowout.com/original.aspx. A few years ago there was an uproar about it using a high % of formaldehyde, but in recent years, they have made many BBD treatments formaldehyde free, because of how damaging it is to the clients health and hair, as well as the hairdresser's health too.

Before the BBD... Ok so a bit about my hair, before the treatment I was a 3b M/C iii, it is very very curly, a frizz bomb! It is veryyyy dry and damaged as I am an ex-heat offender.