PDA

View Full Version : Why are you for or against heat?

kganihanova
December 14th, 2013, 10:50 AM
Hi all! I was just wondering why some of you were for or against heat. I guess I'll start.

I'm against heat because high temps do tend to damage hair. I'm aware that there are better blowdry techniques- quick passes, low heat, cool air but the whole thing just seems time consuming. I'm a student with barely any time to deal with this hair and it's just easier to air dry. Not to mention my waves (or former waves- bye bye layers) don't deal well with heat.

I'm excited to hear your responses!:)

snakes&stuff
December 14th, 2013, 11:02 AM
I used to blow dry & flat iron every single day. The problem is that my hair is coarse, thick, curly, & dry in its natural state, so I always had ratty, straw-like hair with severe splitting. I had a big chop to remove all my damage over a year ago and i haven't used heat since. Some types of hair can handle heat better than others. My mom (who has thinner, pin straight hair) uses a blow dryer & flat iron daily, but hers looks & feels perfectly healthy.

neko_kawaii
December 14th, 2013, 11:06 AM
Heat sounds like work to me.

Madora
December 14th, 2013, 11:11 AM
Natural air drying is the gentlest way to dry.

Marbid
December 14th, 2013, 11:19 AM
I blow dry my hair every time i wash it. I blow dry on cool setting and only until my hair is slightly damp.

I dont want my curls to form, its not that i dislike them, i just cant brush them. I wear my hair up every day, and i need to brush out the curls for braids and some buns. It looks neater. So i braid it damp to get braid waves which are much easier to handle than my hair in its natural state.

The only time i air dry is when i am going to be wearing my hair down. Which i don't do often at all. The curls, and the wind, and shirt friction... Leads to damage. I'm trying to grow out to term. Really don't want any damage.