PDA

View Full Version : I need a new routine!

BlueGold
December 13th, 2013, 07:29 PM
My current routine has been CO washing 2x a week with a tea rinse after followed by a leave in and coconut oil. Also, I deep condition once a week and use cassia once a month. I've been doing this for about 6 months. My hair has been thinning from CO washing and I really don't want to go back to using shampoo. What can I do to change up my routine to stop the hair thinning?

snakes&stuff
December 13th, 2013, 07:47 PM
My hair actually got thicker after I started cowashing. Does the conditioner you use have silicones? Maybe you're having an issue with silicone buildup. I've heard some people say that buildup could cause hair loss or breakage.

ejking2
December 13th, 2013, 08:06 PM
If you're sure CO washing is making your hair fall out, I wouldn't recommend staying with it. I'd guess your follicles are getting clogged. You could try herb washes or using sulfate-free shampoo and diluting it a lot.

sarahthegemini
December 14th, 2013, 04:55 AM
Why not try cwc?

Lyv
December 14th, 2013, 06:24 AM
My hair was shedding like crazy when I was co washing. I switched to CWC but it left my scalp a little dry so now I've started putting conditioner over all of hair and scalp (like a co wash) and then using shampoo on my scalp over the conditioner and it has fixed both issues for me.

meteor
December 14th, 2013, 09:47 AM
Whatever truly causes your hair thinning should be ditched from the routine.

Very often, CO routine over time leaves hair heavy, dark and sleeked down or greasy looking, so it may appear that your hair is thinning, while it's actually OK. But if do you notice more shedding and your ponytail shrinking, then you can try going back to shampoos or shampoo bars or herbal washes (e.g. aritha, shikakai). How about using a very gentle SLS/SLES-free shampoo, something like Shea Moisture Retention Shampoo? You just need something soft and not stripping your hair of natural oils.