PDA

View Full Version : Henna bad for my hair :(

Flossiebell
December 9th, 2013, 07:46 AM
Hi
i have been using henna for a few years now and have just been mooching on the net and have seen that people have been saying that henna is bad for hair because it dries it out and makes it prone to breakage. I think they may be onto something (in my case anyway) as my hair is dull, dry, brittle, prone to snapping and generally not very happy. It has been like this for about the time I have been using henna and I must say that when I grew out 3 inches of my natural colour that part of my hair was much shinier, softer and resilient than the hennaed bit.
has this happened to anyone else? Maybe my hair doesn't like henna but it's fine for everyone else? Wish I had twigged earlier this year so I wouldn't have to start growing out from scratch again...sigh...back to salt and pepper for me :(

Flor
December 9th, 2013, 08:38 AM
Maybe it's just too many henna applications for you? Have you considered just doing the roots? Otherwise perhaps your hair could benefit from clarifying shampoo, followed by deep conditioning? Dry brittle ends are not necessarily henna's fault, could be just product/hard water build up.

My natural hair is also softer than hennaed btw. But that's part of the reason why I henna. Mine's just TOO soft on it's own.

Magalo
December 9th, 2013, 10:04 AM
Henna acts ike a protein treatment, it makes hair stronger but also more prone to breakage if you don't balance with moisture. I think you need a few SMT and your hair will be back to normal in no time. :)

kganihanova
December 9th, 2013, 11:29 AM
I think you're onto something here. Do some SMTs and clarify but also go with your gut feeling. Henna doesn't work for everyone unfortunately.

Anje
December 9th, 2013, 12:23 PM