PDA

View Full Version : Still not sure whether I like my hair colour or not :(

BowTie
December 7th, 2013, 07:51 AM
So, I've been growing my real colour out since August. I've been dying my blonette hair for over 10 years and been bleached blonde about a year.

My problem is I still don't know whether I dislike or like my real colour. People said it will change while it grows. I haven't noticed much change. Actually it seems that it gets darker and ashier. In some updos, you can really see my growing hair colour well. Maybe it will look better when all the bleach is gone but on the other I doubt it will look good without any highlights. I guess the sun will get me some.

I've looked lots of blonette pictures. Most of the time I like them and think they look beautiful. But my real hair colour (from old pictures) just doesn't seem like that.

I honestly don't know what to do. I want to grow my dye out properly but I'm afraid I will still dislike it. Maybe I should just learn my hair will never be strawberry blonde, caramel or golden blonde and that my hair is very very ashy.

I don't know what to do if I don't like it. Bleaching is bad, dark hair dyes might give you a bad allergic reaction, I've read so many times henna doesn't suit blonettes and I don't really like cassia either.

Sometimes I feel like shaving my hair and wearing a wig.

Lilli
December 7th, 2013, 08:27 AM
You have to wait until the virgin hair is 1-2 years old to see a color change IME. My hair is dark blonde at roots and light blonde at ends, and I do not color it - it just gets lighter as it gets older (I suppose just sun and being washed.) It really doesn't look lighter until about jaw length on me.

Perhaps you ought to dye the bottom to match the regrowth (or a bit lighter) so the contrast doesn't make the top look dull.

Anje
December 7th, 2013, 08:27 AM