PDA

View Full Version : Finding that hair care routine. Advice?

Johannah
December 7th, 2013, 03:30 AM
So I'm trying to figure out a routine that works best for my hair. I started a couple of years ago with growing my hair from APL. I discovered coconut oil and grahtoestudio. I used to take care of my hair for a year pretty good, and it grew. Then I went to university. I won't say that I'm dumb, but I'm definitely not the smartest girl ever. I study Educational Sciences and it's definitely not easy. I was so busy I forget about the LHC and my hair. My overall length didn't grow, but I grew out my layers a bit (they reached my chin when I started). I'm at 30" right now.

I studied really really really hard and with a lot of tears, I passed my first year :cheese:. In the summer holiday, I suddenly remembered my dream of having long hair without layers. So I joined back in. And I won't quit this time. :o

I did a lot of experimenting since summer. I went SLS- and silicon free. I tried CO, WO, CWC, different oils, different updo's, stretching washes, vitamins, healthy eating, protein masks, moisturizing masks, SMT, ... You name it, I've done it. So around 6 weeks ago I found a routine that works great.

-Saturday night I do some heavy oiling with coconut oil/avocado oil.
-I wash it out on Sunday morning/afternoon with CO.
-Wednesday I wash my hair again with SLS-free shampoo and condition afterwards (Petal Fresh, tea tree).
-I use a towel to wrap in my hair and leave it like that for half an our when I washed it.
-I use coconut oil as a leave in when needed.
-I sleep with my hair in a braid and I'm doing the 'wear your hair up-challenge' since September. I brush my hair twice a day.
-I eat healthy (a lot of water, milk, vitamins, fish etc.) I take vitamins once in a while when I notice I need to (when having a not so healthy week, for example).
-I S&D when I have time.
-I've clarified once since September with a SLS shampoo without silicones.