PDA

View Full Version : serious costume help for some performances

Tail Feathers
December 1st, 2013, 02:28 AM
Hello, everyone...
I am a performer (by profession, classical pianist, but also actress/singer...)...
and I need your help !
I have several large performances in the next few weeks,
in some interesting festival settings.

One in particular, is quite theatrical in nature.

I will be singing/reciting and playing mermaid and sailor songs,
(sea shanties, in brief); and also reciting some poems
that speak of sea deities and water nymphs. . .

so
I have learned my parts,
but
what should I do as a "costume" ?
(I am Horrible with these things)

I was thinking to "chalk" my hair different shades of blue and
to leave it wild and loose
(Does that damage hair ?? I must use painter's chalks, because all
the fantastic products you girls use are not available here...)

any ideas ??

and,
what should I wear ?

I will be onstage with my piano,
and at times a medieval-style jester
will weave in and out, juggling rings and similar

If anyone is very good at this,
please please please PM me, and I will send you my website
(so you can see me and maybe help even more !)

or otherwise,
any suggestions ??

thank you everyone so much for any help !

Tail Feathers
December 1st, 2013, 04:31 AM
pretty please, help !
someone ??

does anyone know about hair chalking ?
and
any other "sea-theme" ideas for a (serious; this is a very "important" international festival) stage costume ?
something that reminds of the sea (from which all these songs come), without going "overboard"

(i thought the near classic length mane painted blue (if that is not going to ruin my hair),
under stage lights, could be quite dreamy....)

any ideas ?? anyone ???
everyone here is so Much more creative than me with hairstyles and costumes and similar !!

help !!!

Andeee
December 1st, 2013, 05:49 AM
This sounds fantastic! I need some time to think....I love costumes and costuming but am not a pro.