PDA

View Full Version : can conditioner or shampoo affect natural hair color?

Hyena
November 15th, 2013, 06:18 PM
Hi all, I'm a Super Newb when it comes to hair care.

One thing that seems to happen is my hair color (natural, a dark blonde) seems to fluctuate over time. I've had people ask if I've colored my hair dark or lightened it, which I never have.

The most annoying thing is that it can be a very dull like...grey brown almost. It is dark up by the scalp and progressively lightens up farther down, but the top color can be dark blond or poopy sludge. I *think* it happens when I use cone conditioners, but I'm not sure-it's the only correlation I have (I skip around on hair care products, so I'm not even sure of that)

Or is it sun exposure? Or am I crazy?

bananahanna
November 15th, 2013, 06:40 PM
It may be that your hair is slightly oilier some days than others? This happens to me and my blonde hair looks a lot darker at the roots. Definitely try the cone free conditioner, its worth a shot.

bythesea
November 15th, 2013, 10:26 PM
It may have to do with hormones and sun exposure... my hair was ALWAYS a sludgey greyish ashy dishwater light medium brownish when I was in high school, and then the last few years of college the color darkened up a little bit and then I used to live in Florida so I spent a lot of time at the beach in the summer and the sun really gave me a lot of natural high lights and good coloring. I'll post a picture from my phone below (if it works) to show you!

But, yeah, I think sometimes hormones can affect hair color (I hear pregnant women say that all the time). But also sun exposure. If your hair doesn't get a lot of time in the sun it won't have a lot of natural high lights and may just look ashy. I know it's not good for hair to be out in the sun a lot, but mine has been just fine.

bythesea
November 15th, 2013, 10:27 PM
Edit: this picture goes with the post above ^

http://i42.tinypic.com/j8m7f4.jpg

Springlets