PDA

View Full Version : Product help for a complete newb to this!

Scelesta
November 7th, 2013, 01:14 PM
I need to find silicone and sulfate free conditioner, and shampoo (I want to go no shampoo, but I need to wash my scalp 2 times a month or its gets soooo itchy) that are not hugely expensive.(I'm thinking nothing more then 10 bucks a bottle...I'm not comfortable spending more then that on this since I dont yet know what my hair needs or what will work.)

But seeing as how I have NO IDEA what to look for i'm lost. The only product I can find that sulfate free has silicone in it.

If theres no reasonably priced condtioners/shampoos that meet that above are there any natural options I can use instead that wont break my budget? I'm a blank slate and have no idea what works for my hair since I have never had healthy unprocessed hair!

The only things i've used in place of shampoo that worked great for me was white vinegar and baking soda, but as for natural conditioners I'm unsure.

Scelesta
November 7th, 2013, 01:16 PM
I dont know my hair type, the hair type info under my avatar was for my heavily processed hair, I have no idea my natural hair type anymore as I have not let it grow out long enough without bleaching or dyeing heavily in years.

TenaciousTangle
November 7th, 2013, 01:30 PM
I swear by Desert Essence coconut shampoo and conditioner. I just love that brand so much. The coconut line makes my hair really silky and tame and there's something in the cream rinse that soaks into my hair and makes it so conditioned and happy (and no, it's not coconut oil! haha. I use a ton of that anyway). They're sulfate, 'cone, and everything-else free and cost about 7-10 dollars depending on where you buy them.

https://www.desertessence.com/store/coconut-shampoo Hey, they have a website!

ETA: I sound like a commercial, don't I? ;) They do have flaws. The shampoo nearly freezes in the winter and it's hard to get out of the bottle.

AspenSong
November 7th, 2013, 01:58 PM