PDA

View Full Version : I want white hair. Help?!

Luna12345
October 12th, 2013, 05:50 PM
Hi everyone.
I have been coloring my hair blue black for approximately 2 years now and need a change. I wanted to try something I've never done before so I thought of white. My natural hair is dark brown. It is currently colored black. I have a light olive complexion and dark brown eyes. Do you think it's possible to achieve this at home? And do you think it could look good with my dark eyes?
Has anyone here colored their hair white or close enough?

AnqeIicDemise
October 12th, 2013, 06:13 PM
I do know that it takes a lot of bleaching to get it to get it light enough to tone white properly. I've seen it be done both on accident and on purpose. There's a lot of damage that happens in the process... and that's with short, virgin hair. If your hair is longer than collar bone and it has been dyed (especially in such a dark color as blue black) I strongly recommend that you go to a professional for a consult and having it done. DIYing something like this can be extremely tricky and the potential for a horrendous mistake to happen is much too high. At least in my opinion.

I've made the mistake of trying to dye my hair blue on my own and the bleaching process, itself, was my undoing. Turns out I have a light of red undertones and my hair goes quite brassy super fast... I wasn't applying the bleach evenly so I got patchy.

I'll dye my hair any color at home, but I refuse to bleach it.

Ps: the only reason my room mate gets her hair bleached that white at home is because our other roomie is a licensed cosmetologist and he does it for her. And even then, I've seen it go a little wrong too. (Too much purple shampoo toned it grey.)

cathair
October 12th, 2013, 06:17 PM