PDA

View Full Version : Air-drying: I'm doing it wrong /o\

Nesoi
October 9th, 2013, 06:02 AM
I know this has come up before, but I'm really struggling with it. I hope nobody minds me asking again.

I'm not new to air-drying, as hairdryers make my hair go enormous and terrible, but I am new to realising that my hair isn't straight :rolleyes: So in the past I would always brush my hair (I KNOW) when wet to part it etc, then wonder why it dried frizzy and terrible.

Now I know I shouldn't touch my hair while it's air-drying as this will break up the wave pattern and cause frizz. My problem is this: I co-wash, then apply my rinse-out, then detangle with either my fingers or a TT while my hair is full of nice thick conditioner. It detangles very easily, partly because it's not very long. I then rinse with water as cold as I can take it until the rinse-out is mostly gone, and then gently squeeze the excess water from my hair. I blot dry with a T-shirt, then wrap the shirt around my head while I finish drying and lotioning etc.

When I take the T-shirt turban down, my hair is all pointing straight back from my forehead, right? Because I've been careful not to move it while blotting dry. But then if I don't touch it, it dries like that! I get this straight-back flat helmet on top, and the bottom layers ringlet up around my neck so that I look like a Mario mushroom shudder: And that's not my natural texture! I am a 2a and my waves start quite high up on my head as I don't have enough length to weigh them down yet - so if I let them dry like this they are frizzy, too, because they haven't clumped!