PDA

View Full Version : did/does anyone else have this fear?

xoam0re
October 7th, 2013, 10:41 AM
So, I have severely damaged ends. . . before I joined this lovely community, I abused my hair by bleaching my ends to go ombre (I had been doing all over color for about 4 years -- at one point in 2011 I was bleached blonde) I had about an inch and a half or 2 cut off in July, with still tons of damage to go. I was recently diagnosed with sebhorrheic (i can never spell it correctly) dermatitis, and I have to use ketokonazole shampoo. . . so super super super drying, i can't seem to get enough moisture in my ends. So I've been flirting with the idea of the 'big chop' to start fresh. But i seem to have this irrational fear that it won't grow back. My hair grows super quickly when I take care of it and baby it, and I've given up bleach and color, and am learning to embrace my one tiny gray streak. In the past I've cycled through going super short and growing out, super short and growing out. . . but this time I'd love to stay long. But it seems almost pointless if my ends keep breaking off, I have a good 4 or 5 inches that could be cut off...

Does anyone else have this fear? Or did you have this fear when giving up chemical processing and did 'the big chop'? My hair is the longest its ever been in my life, so I think thats why the thought of the big chop seems almost unbearable this time. Since I was previously bleached blonde, I know the hair I have on my ends has been through hell and back and recently went back to hell, so I know REBLEACHING them like an idiot wasn't smart, but hey. . . I did it on a whim.

teawitch
October 7th, 2013, 11:02 AM