PDA

View Full Version : Castor oil for treating Trich related thinning - A journey.

Rio040113
October 6th, 2013, 09:01 AM
I'm a long time lurker turned newbie here, so I'm slightly scared of starting my very own thread but here I go...

As a child I had reasonably thick (high ii/possibly low iii) hair, which through years of dye/heat/back combing etc ended up as mid ii but I was still very happy with it, people still commented on it's thickness and it looked totally fine. Due to a very stressful period I ended up with Trich, I've had it for about 3 years but it's been significantly worse this past year or so. I'm 99% pull free at the moment (it's hard but it's possible!). Over the last ~19 months however I've lost just over 1 inch of my thickness, officially taking me from mid ii (a comfortable 3 inches as measured in March 2012) to just teetering into i (a smidge under 2 inches as of today).

My worst areas are my front hairline and my crown, they both show quite a lot of scalp. After catching sight of myself on a cctv camera in a shop the other day and being upset to the point of considering a wig (hey, it's not often I see my head from that angle, it was a wee shock), I've decided to be as proactive as I can and start using Castor oil! I've read a lot of good things on this forum about it, with a few neutral comments and a sprinkle of bad thrown in as well, so I don't expect a miracle but I am cautiously hopeful :)

I've just ordered my supplies today -

1x 250ml Pukka cold pressed organic Castor oil
1x 118ml Miaroma pure Avocado oil
1x 200g Biona Coconut oil (raw, organic and virgin)
A few plastic shower caps (I intend to leave the oil on overnight)
1x 'Turbie' (To help keep things warm and secure during the night)