PDA

View Full Version : search and destroy questions

rrs
September 28th, 2013, 11:25 AM
When you s&d, do you only cut the true splits? Or do you also take the white dots? What about the bent ends? What if they are only a little bent and dry looking?

Thanks.

höpönasu
September 28th, 2013, 11:31 AM
I cut all the bad ends. Maximum results. I do dustings about every 4 months and my hair has improved a lot so when I'm S&D'ing I rarely find big amounts of any bad ends. A person who has tons of bad ends S&D'ing can be quite painful.

rrs
September 28th, 2013, 11:44 AM
Three reasons that I currently have some bad ends:

I haven't trimmed since Feb. I know I should, but I'm in a smaller city and can't seem to find any stylists who don't want to cut it into a bob and bleach it. I'm really new to longer hair, and I don't feel comfortable doing even a dusting myself.

I did a Joico kpak a few days ago. I could tell my hair needed it, but it does usually cause dryness for me. I only do one every couple of months or so. My hair appears to need protein sometimes but also be sensitive to it.

I'm growing out from a layered chin length bob, so lots of different lengths happening. I think my hair is actually type 1b. I did platinum highlights every two months for several years, but stopped doing that in February of this year. I'm still working on growing out some bleach damage.

Today I will clarify and do an Aussie 3mm and see if that helps the dry ends. I'm only at shoulder length, so I'm trying to baby it rather than cut it when possible.

rrs
September 28th, 2013, 11:51 AM
Thank you for the reply. Do you do your dustings yourself or do you go to a stylist? I'm really new to this hair stuff and and don't know if I'd feel comfortable doing a dusting. I have all kinds of layers growing out that I'm just not sure how to handle.

jrmviola
September 28th, 2013, 12:03 PM