PDA

View Full Version : Tying hair

Kwantslonghair
September 26th, 2013, 07:24 AM
Does t hurt hair to twist like to put in bun but tie in a knot. I find myself doing that instead of using a hair band or stick to hold it of of the way. I find it does not pull at my scalp like ponytails do and it stays up all day or night

Carolyn
September 26th, 2013, 07:50 AM
No, I don't think it hurts to tie it in a knot. Does the knot come out easily when you untie it?

I see that we have the same hair type. I've tried tying mine in a knot and it unties itself in minutes. If I want it to stay knotted I have to use a hair stick to keep it knotted and in place. What kind of a knot do you use and where do you knot it?

kitschy
September 26th, 2013, 07:52 AM
I tie my hair in a knot because my texture will hold it all day. I've been doing it since I joined here two years ago and haven't noticed any ill effects

Kwantslonghair
September 26th, 2013, 08:02 AM
Carolyn. I just gather it up as if I was putting it in a high pony, twist, but not too tight, then make a loop fairly close to scalp, the extra length I wrap around and tuck in where ever I can. If I comb it first it won't stay because it's too slippery but if I just gather it up by hand it stays pretty good

Kwantslonghair
September 26th, 2013, 08:03 AM
Thanks for your answers

torrilin
September 26th, 2013, 08:14 AM
Even on uncombed hair, plain knot buns don't stay up on me by themselves. Too slippery. They hold fine with pins, a stick, or a fork tho. A Celtic or slip knot bun stays a smidge better without tools, but that doesn't really mean it stays in by itself. It just doesn't fall out instantly. It might last more than 5 minutes without me holding it in place!!!!