PDA

View Full Version : Sealing the Hair Cuticle and Product Use.

Dark Star
September 26th, 2013, 03:14 AM
I have been doing the final rinse of my hair with cool to cold water for, gosh, around 25 years now. I prefer it and I wish to stick with it. It helps to maintain my waves and I do not doubt that it helps my hair to shine as well.

However, more recently it has become essential that I start trying to work with a leave-in due to a protein overload. I am wondering: by utilizing a cold water rinse on my strands, am I preventing the leave-in from penetrating my hair shaft and imparting to it, the moisture that it needs? Is it just, in effect, coating the strands then?

Thanks for any feedback. I am a newbie on such things so please bear with my lack of knowledge!

sarahthegemini
September 26th, 2013, 03:27 AM
I've wondered this too so I shall be watching this thread! Sorry I'm no help.

Siiri
September 26th, 2013, 03:41 AM
I highly doubt just cold water can seal your hair so that nothing will penetrate it. I'm not sure whether there's any real science behind the cold closing the hair cuticles or not, I know acidity does that. Even if it does close the cuticles, wouldn't the body heat and warmer air around you make the cuticles rise again afterwards? Maybe someone can tell about the science behind this.

What leave-in are you using? Some ingredients are meant to coat the hair and help retain the water in the hair longer and make it smoother and easier to detangle, humectants attract water from the surrounding air, some can penetrate into the hair (coconut oil for instance).

Coolcombination
September 26th, 2013, 03:51 AM
Um how long does a protein overload last for you? Surely it won't hurt to leave the cold water rinse out until your protein/moisture balance is normal again

Firefox7275
September 26th, 2013, 07:13 AM