PDA

View Full Version : Not sure if I should grow my hair long..

BowTie
September 25th, 2013, 11:39 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie. Your forum is amazing and I've learnt so many new and great things. I absolutely adore long hair and I'm very much interested in haircare. However, I have this fear that makes me wonder if there is even a point growing my hair long.

Currently my hair is below my chin. Bleached. I know it's bad but I really dislike my own colour. However, from now on I will only use highlights. My hairtype is Scandinavian. The single hair is thin but I have lots if it. It also grows oretty quickly. My hairdresser thinks it's a bit wavy.

When I was around 14 my hair was MUCH thicker, lovely and long. I'd only have a few highlights, that's all. Then I cut it shorter and started dying it.. from red to black and again blonde.Not good. When I was 20 I started growing my hair again and stopped dying it. At first it was good but then I lost probably half of my hair.. cut it short.

Now it feels much better. I've totally changed my routine. I wash twice a week with shampoo and conditioner. Don't use heat. I only use hairspray if I'm going out for a party and not always then. I've learnt some updos such as dutch brauds. I comb and massage my hair daily. Going to start oiling. I try to eat as healthy as possible and drink lots of water.

Will these things help or am I person who just has to live with short hair? Thank you.

Panth
September 25th, 2013, 11:45 AM
Those all sound like very sensible things. In particular, stopping use of heat and minimising use of bleach and dye will be very beneficial.

I don't think anyone just has to live with short hair - they just have to learn to accept the amount of damage that will occur from the treatments they do and then reconcile that with their hairtype and length goals.