PDA

View Full Version : My question - to trim or not

Princess92
September 21st, 2013, 08:58 AM
Hi everyone - newbie here :)

I'm thinking that I want my goal to be thigh or knee length with a blunt straight across end. Currently my hair is fairly blunt across at classic length, but is starting to get uneven and am debating getting it trimmed. My question is what is the best option for me to obtain my goal - to keep trimming a little at a time to try and maintain a blunt end until I reach my goal length or let it grow without cutting it, then once it reaches my goal length start cutting a little at a time? Or something inbetween?

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated :) /and I hope my question makes sense!

Magalo
September 21st, 2013, 10:03 AM
If it's uneven because it's damaged, trim a little. If it's uneven just because growth is uneven, and the ends look good, grow to knee and then cut for a blunt hem. :)

Panth
September 21st, 2013, 10:12 AM
It depends which is more important to you - getting to knee in a reasonable length of time or constantly having blunt-cut ends. If the former, grow out to knee (trimming or S&Ding only when there are splits) and then maintain there to get the blunt hemline. If the latter, trim regularly but make sure you are not trimming away all your growth.

Just be aware that a) with regular trimming to maintain your hemline, classic to knee is probably going to take a LONG time (just "racing it" with no/minimal trims seems to take 2-3 years minimum on most people in the classic to knee length thread, myself included) and b) depending on your hair, a blunt hemline at knee may be impossible. On most people, after about classic you just have to start embracing the fairytale ends.

jacqueline101
September 21st, 2013, 10:13 AM
If its uneven I'd trim enough to even it out.

Princess92
September 21st, 2013, 10:38 AM
Thanks for the replies! So by damaged ends am I looking for split ends?

Panth
September 21st, 2013, 10:42 AM