PDA

View Full Version : Can someone please HELP me figure out what I'm doing wrong with my hair? :(

mitimaniac
September 20th, 2013, 05:57 PM
Hello, I'm a newbie here and these past few days my head has been spinning looking at all your guys' methods of washing, oiling, rinsing, etc... I don't exactly know where to start!
So I guess I will start with saying what's wrong with my hair to see if you guys could help me:
I have bra-strap length curly-ish fine hair that is very very thinned out and frizzy. the last 3 inches or so of my hair are dry, broken off and split-end filled. It actually looks like I have layers starting at the top of my head from so much breakage! I remember when I was younger my strands of hair were I think actually thicker than now and I had a reeeeally thick ponytail. My mother would always complain about it when she brushed it!
I don't do anything like heat style it or blow dry it. I don't brush it that often because when I do brush it my curls get all wack and I get a 'fro:(. I have never dyed my hair completely but have dyed the ends a few times and I'm growing out a mini ombre I had done 8 months ago. I shampooed and conditioned with conventional products like Pantene, Herbal Essences and Head & Shoulders, which I now know are laden with SLS and cones and all that..... And now I use my mother's Pureology shampoo until I can buy something more natural such as a CV shampoo bar. I have a bottle of marrakesh oil that I use every time I wash my hair, which is every two days.
I lose a LOT of hair in the shower, the times I brush my hair and I find my hairs on the bathroom floor, in my bed, EVERYWHERE!!