PDA

View Full Version : How do I choose what hair toy to buy?

MissCarrion
September 19th, 2013, 02:31 AM
Hi all

I'm pretty new to hair toys and accessories (I've lived with bobby pins and hair elastics my entire life regardless of hair length), and I really love the look of hair forks and flexi8s and such, but I have NO idea how to choose one, or even where to begin with them.

I have hair that falls between my waist and hips, it's a medium thickness and I have lots of it. One of the few hairstyles I successfully achieved is this one (http://www.howtohairgirl.com/tag/easy-1920s-up-do/) which turned out pretty well the few times I've done it, however it takes a lot of time and effort to get it to look right, and it also uses a butt-tonne of bobby pins. It also looks very done up, which doesn't work so well if I'm at uni in jeans and a tee! The one part that I love about it is that it feels secure but not tight - even ponytails feel like they're tight on me, which means by the end of the day I have an awful headache.

Are there any go-to inexpensive starter hair toys out there? Anything that you'd instantly think of?

I'm a university student, so money is pretty tight (however I am definitely putting such things on my Christmas wish list!) so suggestions that are inexpensive would be excellent, but even bits and pieces which are a touch more expensive are definitely options in the end - I just want something that'll gently and easily hold my hair up!

XcaliburGirl
September 19th, 2013, 06:00 AM
You can get hair sticks quite inexpensively on Etsy. Eaduard hairsticks, for example.

I think your best bet is to look around for other members with similar length and thickness to see what they use.

I found this thread that may help: forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=96948

Also, if you are crafty, there's this thread: forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=131

Firefox7275
September 19th, 2013, 06:16 AM