PDA

View Full Version : Hair horror stories & growing them out

blue_eyes
September 18th, 2013, 11:01 PM
Hi, I'm new here! This type of thread has probably been done before, but I'm just starting it as a place to hear other hair disasters and how you've coped with growing them out.

I've been growing out my hair from a bob for probably about 4 years; I'm naturally blonde and had been dying it dark brown (almost black). I'd attempted to go back to blonde a few times (both by bleaching or highlighting) but it always looked awful and I'd dye it dark again. Anyway I finally learned my lesson. After the last session at the salon, which turned my hair patches of brown and orange, my long hair broke off in certain areas. If my hair was 24 inches, in those areas it's now 12 (at the most, some parts are only 4 inches long). So I had to get my long hair cut to hide the areas of breakage. They are mostly on the underside, around the nape of my neck, so they are easy to hide thankfully, but it was still horrifying. So now my long hair is generally only just past my shoulders :(. My hair is very thin and fine to begin with, so all that breakage really made my hair look even thinner.
I just need some support while trying to patiently grow it back out.

biogirl87
September 18th, 2013, 11:56 PM
blue_eyes, I just wanted to say that I sympathesize with your pain. I know it can be difficult to grow your hair out from short lengths if you've had long hair before, but with enough time you'll have long hair again. I haven't tried them myself with much consistency, but I know members here have had success with scalp massages.

sandigrl117
September 19th, 2013, 01:00 AM
Welcome blue_eyes! Like biogirl87 said, you'll have long hair again with time. I also recommend a good multivitamin with folic acid and biotin to keep the hair that's growing in healthy and less prone to breakage in the future.

RedNymph
September 19th, 2013, 04:20 AM