PDA

View Full Version : Long hair in the World of Business (Professional Issues with Long Hair?)

LAG93
September 10th, 2013, 06:38 PM
Hello everyone!

I started this thread because I could not find any related to this question...Is it acceptable for a professional businesswoman (manager, CEO, accountant, marketing executive, or any executive type position) to have long hair? Not BSL long, but like TB or Classic length?

Some background information on myself:
I'm 19, currently going to university, most likely majoring in marketing and management, and I would like an executive position at a big corporate business.
I have been growing my hair from SL for 2 1/2 years. It is now WAIST! (yay :D)
But I would like to continue to grow my hair possibly to tailbone. However, since I am a sophomore in college, and I wish to have a professional, office type of job, I am wondering if it may be inappropriate to have such long hair? (Along with many of my other current habits, like not wearing a bra, fashionably sexy clothes)
I want to be highly respected and taken seriously. I also want really long hair, can the two go together? And if so are there certain styles that may be more suitable than others?
I like to wear my hair down, or half up, and with long hair that may not be the most professional style...

I'd love to hear you ladies' opinions on this topic! Also I mean no offense to anyone by asking this question. It's just a curiosity of mine!

MeganE
September 10th, 2013, 06:50 PM
I avoid the discussion with anyone at work by never wearing it down. Buns, braided buns, and twists keep it up and nobody knows how long it is. Keep in mind that you are already developing your professional reputation with colleagues and professors. Use good sense and you'll be fine.

massivecnqstdr
September 10th, 2013, 06:53 PM
I totally agree that just keeping it in tidy updo's is the way to go. I actually think a neat updo is even more professional looking than a bob or similar.

Crumpet