PDA

View Full Version : Hair has had lots of damage and breakage since teen years

AngelAlly
September 4th, 2013, 10:46 AM
Hi! This is my first time posting. I've been lurking on here for months and finally joined! My last trim was in January 2013. Anyway ever since I was around 13 or 14 my hair started getting lots of breakage. As a teenager I never used heat except for occasions like prom or the homecoming. I just washed and would brush it out when dry. I had a little past waist length hair until I was 18 and cut it to my shoulders a couple of months before my big chop I had used sun in. I started growing it out again but I started going for a trim every 3-4 months but that made no difference with my breakage. I quit using hair elastic daily and that didn't help either. In 2012 I had it cut to my shoulders again and kept it maintained there. My last trim was about 9 months ago. After the trim I decided to go nopoo. I would wash with baking soda and condition with apple cider vinegar. I started oiling ends with olive oil coconut oil and almond oil. I continued nopoo until June and started using suave again. I wash around twice a week. I'm thinking about going nopoo again. I thought I would ask y'all what I should do to prevent split ends. My hair is not colored and I don't use heat. I'm hoping for some of your long haired wisdom with what to with this crazy breakage. When I've asked stylists they would tell me to use X product or that I just have bad hair.

sarahthegemini
September 4th, 2013, 10:58 AM
Baking soda is really harsh, possibly harsher than regular sulfate shampoos (depending on your dilution) And ACV isn't an actual conditioner. You could try Cassia which I believe strengthens hair.

Panth
September 4th, 2013, 11:02 AM