PDA

View Full Version : Tea rinses, anyone?

&rea
September 2nd, 2013, 10:15 PM
I'm curious. Does anyone else do tea rinses? If so, please share your routine and the effects it has on your hair :)

Here's mine.

I started doing a weekly tea rinse a few months ago. I like to use Rooibos and Pomegranate. It makes an incredible deep red color. I'll do one application and let it sit until it dries then repeat. From start to finish, I usually let it sit for about 4-5 hours. When I wash it out, my hair is extremely shiny. The tea also seems to bring out some of the natural red/auburn highlights in my hair. I've never used color on my hair before. I haven't experienced any permanent tenting or staining that I've read about online, which is good because I don't want to change the color of my hair (just enhance it). I also notice that it seems to condition both my hair and my scalp, which is great.

Leeloo
September 3rd, 2013, 12:21 AM
I try to do catnip tea rinses instead of conditioner. Catnip might give a little yellowish tint to white hair, but it washes out.

sarahthegemini
September 3rd, 2013, 07:08 AM
I'll be watching this thread as I'd like to start doing tea rinses. I've got two samples of NightBlooming's herbal tea rinse that I'm itching to try!

höpönasu
September 3rd, 2013, 07:38 AM
I have some black tea I don't like at all so instead of throwing it away I use it to rinse my hair. I let my hair soak in the bowl full of tea for a few minutes, then I rinse my hair with it, use a clip to put my hair up and let it be for 5-10 minutes. I do it while I'm showering so. I didn't see any difference but I'll happily use it for my hair than throw away. I'm pretty sure I let it sit far too little time.

redtuss
September 3rd, 2013, 07:43 AM