PDA

View Full Version : Going to a stylist for updo

Libbylou
September 2nd, 2013, 07:22 AM
Later this month I will be attending a family wedding, I am seriously thinking of getting a professional updo. I have never done this in all my 50 some years.
I know this will probably cost about $50 as my hair is about 2 inches from waist. I have been very kind to my hair over the past 3 years, no heat, mostly natural products. I know this one time probably won't do that much damage.
I am just learning braids and buns and hair friendly updos. I just want a very polished look this one time. No flyaways or baby hairs sticking out and not lop sided in the back.
I was just wondering about how long would this salon event take?

jacqueline101
September 2nd, 2013, 07:52 AM
I'd guess an hour.

fairview
September 2nd, 2013, 10:11 AM
A picture is worth a million words. Please spare the stylist and yourself the pain and disappointment of trying to verbally describe it. Secondly, cough up the money for a trial updo well before the event to make sure there are no surprises and you have time to find another stylist if there is a surprise. Thirdly, make sure you are facing the mirror during the process so there aren't any surprises. Depending on what you want, it could take a little as 15 minutes to a couple of hours. Have fun!!

spidermom
September 2nd, 2013, 10:13 AM
I can't add more to what has already been suggested other than be prepared for a lot of teasing and hair spray. I had a professional up-do for my son's wedding, and I can't stand to look at those pictures. It was so not me.

dulce
September 2nd, 2013, 11:02 AM
I had a fancy salon updo-sprayed and teased,curled-piled atop my head for my wedding,went home,It felt so uncomfortable ,I washed my hair, then put it in a classy ,elegant simple side bun for my wedding.Much better!

Wasy
September 2nd, 2013, 11:06 AM