PDA

View Full Version : Looking to learn proper haircare

Angelair
August 20th, 2013, 01:41 PM
Hello,
I've recently came across this forum and have been learning so much about ways to take care of my poor fried hair! This is such an excellent site - and of course as a newbie I have tons of questions! I have fine and thin/medium hair that's finally somewhere around APL, with a slight wave to it. Too many color changes - always the commercial dyes - and years of 'cone products - have left it looking dead, and my ends keep breaking off. Thus my roots keep growing but my length doesn't change much.

So far, I've begun a CO routine, with a shampoo maybe once every week or two, and have banished my hair dryer - and the flat iron - into the far reaches of my closet - gasp - I never thought that day would come! My hair likes the change, I think. As my roots are coming in, with some grays mixed in - I need to color, and since ice always loved red shades, I waiting now for my BAQ henna delivery to come this week. I know that I have to strand test since my hair has seen so much chemical damage.

What I realize, however is that I really know very little about proper hair care and would love any advice for healthy hair that actually grows - or for anything henna. Anything I should buy besides cone free conditioners? I don't know if I need a comb since I like to finger comb my hair,and I already had bbb from my hair drying days. I have coconut oil, but I'm not sure if it had any positive effect, I applied it tony dry ends last night but they r still dry today, I tried the SMT which I loved - hair was super soft after it dried,but next day was dry and brittle again.

Thanks for any help!

CurlMonster
August 20th, 2013, 02:33 PM