PDA

View Full Version : Questions about W/O

Cindershadow
August 8th, 2013, 07:43 AM
Hello! I'm new to LHC, but have been lurking for a while. I've been tweaking my hair care routine a bit, and just started W/O. I was wondering about a few things: One, do I have to get my hair wet every day? I was shampooing every other day/ twice a week. Two: Are there any recommended hair 'washes'? I used a baking soda and vinegar rinse yesterday. Thank you all for your help!

Emanuelle
August 8th, 2013, 07:58 AM
1. That's something you decide... I would personally never wash or wet my hair EVERY day. That's just too much of a hassle.

2. I've heard baking soda is pretty aggressive. It's salt for the most part, and salt is drying and highly corrosive. Baking soda is often used because it's ''natural''. But remember, if something's natural doesn't necessarily mean that it's healthy or good for the hair. There are natural ingredients that are bad for the hair, and non-natural ingredients that are good for the hair and healthy.

embee
August 8th, 2013, 08:11 AM
WO for me meant Water Only, not "a bunch of other things, just not ordinary shampoo or conditioner".

Baking soda dried out my hair so much (in one try) that I could not comb it at all and it took quite some work to fix. Be very careful.

WO for me means a nice long warm rinse with plenty of scritching when ever I feel like my scalp needs it... which can be every few days - or less in winter when the air is dry and my activity is less sweaty. One joy was the quick drying I noticed. But some people say WO takes longer to dry. ??? :)

LadyCelestina
August 8th, 2013, 08:49 AM
There is a big WO thread,lots of useful information there,you might find some useful information/experiences :)

Firefox7275
August 8th, 2013, 08:57 AM
Baking soda is alkaline so damaging for skin and hair.

Anje
August 8th, 2013, 10:35 AM
One, do I have to get my hair wet every day?