PDA

View Full Version : Hair stick damage?

Coolcombination
August 1st, 2013, 08:02 AM
I'm a newbie to hair toys, when I do a lazy wrap bun with a hair stick, I have to tightly wrap the hair, which hurts my roots and then when I tuck the hair stick in my hair is pulled and then separated as I put it all the way through. When I'm finished my scalp hurts where the hair stick went in. I had to sharpen the stick too because the blunt end seemed like it was breaking hairs when I pushed it in. Has anyone else experienced damage like this?

neko_kawaii
August 1st, 2013, 08:17 AM
I would blunt the end of the stick a little. Find the happy medium between sharp and too blunt. Functionally, most buns don't have to be so tight that they pull at the roots. Again, there is a happy medium to be found there and will take some practice and experimentation but is well worth the effort.

TiaKitty
August 1st, 2013, 08:29 AM
Don't pull your hair so tight when you make the bun.

irisheyes
August 1st, 2013, 08:29 AM
Try making a larger loop for your lazy wrap bun and then wrap it a little looser. This will give you more room for the hair stick to be inserted. Experiment a little to find the best level of tension for comfort.

KittyBird
August 1st, 2013, 08:57 AM
If you have to pull it so tight, maybe your hair isn't long enough to comfortably do lazy wraps yet? I couldn't do any buns before I had gotten to waist length, and there are still many buns I can't do at almost bcl. If the bun hurts, I have to take it down. Don't want to risk getting traction alopecia.
As for inserting blunt sticks, I just wriggle it gently through the hair and sometimes use my hand to make an opening for the stick. It works well for me :)

Kaelee
August 1st, 2013, 08:59 AM
Forget the lazy wrap...try the disc bun! Seriously. I know I'm on a disc bun crusade at the moment but...seriously. Try it.

I'm BSL/midback and I can't even think about a LWB yet. I need at least another inch or two.

Leeloo