PDA

View Full Version : Henna for black hair? & I don't mean African hair :/

DrachenBelladon
July 26th, 2013, 12:25 PM
I am of Pakistani descent & I've been hennaing for a few years; I started in 7th grade, and have continued using it thrice a month. I am now entering 10th grade. My hair has taken on a coppery hue but still, at the same time it's black. The hue doesn't just show under sunlight, it show's through the black... does that make sense? :/
I was wondering how many applications of henna would it take to get the potential coppery red that it's been known for? I've tried Google-ing countless times, but always it shows results of African hair and how good it is, never really answering my question. Ugh, if only I was a brunette, I am sure it would show more easily :(

Isilme
July 26th, 2013, 02:42 PM
Coppery hair? I'm not sure I understand what you mean but since henna can not lighten your hair it will never get lighter than the hair it was applied over. I don't think you can get coppery hair unless you bleach and then henna, your hair is too dark.

jeanniet
July 26th, 2013, 02:53 PM
You can't get the coppery red henna color on your hair without lightening it first, no matter how much henna you use. You'll just get what you're getting now--the shine through the black--and with repeated applications the red color will become deeper, which can look very lovely.

Anje
July 26th, 2013, 02:53 PM
I expect your hair will continue to look the way it currently does -- mostly black but apt to flare some fiery colors in the sun. Like Isilme said, henna on its own won't lighten your hair, and you seem to want results that are lighter than your natural hair color. It's mostly blonds and lighter brunettes that get a drastic color change -- you barely notice the fact that I'm growing out henna with my auburn hair, either.