PDA

View Full Version : Yet another newbie who can't think up an interesting thread title

Lum
July 25th, 2013, 11:00 AM
Been lurking this forum for ages, finally got to resister etc. etc.

Question I have, I've been growing my hair for about 2 years now, after I finally figured out why it seemed stuck at shoulder length (needed to keep on top of those split ends and look after it a bit better). I'm a bit of a late starter with this since I'm in my 30s

I usually get my hairdresser to straighten it, because I'm short of free time lazy and because my partner has problems with her shoulders so I can't get her to do it, I can get a couple of weeks out of a straightening if I'm careful about not getting it wet or messing it up.

Problem I have is I toss and turn a lot when I sleep, I end up tieing it in a sort of upwards ponytail, like a samurai topknot, and that mostly helps unless it comes loose, but the bands leave an obvious kink in the hair which is annoying. I haven't figured out how to do a bun or anything without it falling apart at the slightest knock.

The most recent picture I have of my hair is this one, a bit messy but it was mainly taken to show off that dress :p

http://www.lum.co.uk/temp/GalaxyMaxiDress.jpg

You can see what I mean about the hairband putting a kink in the hair. No front pictures as I prefer not to put my face on the internet.

Goal length: Longer than I'm ever likely to acheive. I'd totally have hair like Marceline's (http://adventuretime.wikia.com/wiki/Marceline) if that was actually achievable IRL.

morrigan*
July 25th, 2013, 11:33 AM
I didn't try it but a lot of people recommend silk or satin pillowcase, or a cap from same material, so your hair won't knot during nights.
If you want to put your hair up during day, you can try using claw clips. I still use them for cinnamon bun at waist.

And i really like your dress, so cool!

imalonghair
July 25th, 2013, 11:33 AM