PDA

View Full Version : I think I want to start using Cones again... Help?

Pigfarts
July 18th, 2013, 08:08 PM
So I've been doing CO with cone free conditioners for the past 6 months. I still don't love how it's going. My hair has been bleached so it's dry but I feel like the only time it looks and feels soft is when I use my old conditioner and serums that have cones.

If I want to start using cones again, can I still do CO? I just don't want to have that whole build up issue and I don't want to use sulfate shampoos.

How do you use cones and prevent buildup?

Thanks!

Beborani
July 18th, 2013, 08:26 PM
The only product that Id like to be cone free is my first conditioner that I use to wash. The next one has cones and I happily slather on pure coney serum on wet hair along with a leave in conditioner that may or may not have a cone (I am not particular). But before I wash I oil my hair with sesame oil (only because I am used to it, any oil should work), domt bother soaking--when conditioner pulls this out it pulls out the cones too. I dont get buildup but every month or longer I wash with something else (At this time it is shikakai or chickpea flour, mostly because I have a supply of these, I am not anti shampoo, just seeing how long I can go without it)

biogirl87
July 18th, 2013, 10:21 PM
Pigfarts, I know that certain cones can be removed with cocamidopropyl betaine. I'm not sure which ones can be removed with cocamidopropyl betaine. You might want to check out naturallycurly.com as they have an article about which cones require sulfates to remove them and which cones can be removed with gentler surfactants. If you know which specific cones you want to go back to, you can try PMing luxepiggy as she knows a lot about cones in general.

Firefox7275
July 19th, 2013, 04:54 AM
Any cone that is prefixed PEG- is water soluble and should not build up, the amine ones resist build up too, many others can be removed with cocoamidopropyl betaine if you don't go mad on them.