PDA

View Full Version : Where to Begin - Complete Newbie

sagremus
July 15th, 2013, 07:02 PM
I'm wondering if somebody could give me some advice on starting out. Right now, my hair is at about mid-back length with many layers that are growing out. The strands are fine in texture and my hair is about average thickness. About 3 years ago I colored the entire head a reddish brown, but it has since faded to my natural ash-brown/blonde. However, I committed a huge crime. I bleached the under half of my hair blonde about 2 years ago. It took about two processes to get it to look platinum. From then on, I have just been touching up the roots and occasionally having a toner to lift the brassiness from the blonde. So I have that "skunk" hair (don't judge me lol).

All my life, my hair and scalp have been SO DRY/tangled/frizzy for 2 days after washing and then reverts to a greasy, limp mess on the 3rd day. Therefore I have no idea if I have oily hair or dry hair. I have been going back and forth between sulfates, cones, etc, and whether or not to shampoo or just condition. I used a sulfate shampoo to try and get my scalp clean and now my hair is crispy like straw. I did a condition-only wash last week and my hair was greasy within 24 hours. There is no in between.

My hair has a little bit of wave, and has defined ringlets when wet, but as soon as it dries it becomes like the Sahara desert and is straight. I can see the frizzy pieces popping out of my head even when I stand in the mirror after showering. I have tried oils, deep conditioners, Ojon hair mask, etc. Nothing seems to be able to quench it's thirst and the tangles ... oh the tangles :( I loose so much hair even when trying to comb it out with a detangling comb just trying to remove knots. It's not just the bleached parts either, although they are worse.

Silicones seemed to help for a short while, and I've stopped using them for about a month now; but I am tempted to go back.