PDA

View Full Version : A self-trim mishap!

MimiKeki
May 27th, 2013, 02:43 PM
Hello everybody, I hope you are all well.
I'm just curious to see if anybody else has ever made the same mistake as I have...

I was reluctantly due for a trim, as my tailbone length ends were getting a little ragged. I didn't want to go to a salon, as I do have a little fear of them cutting too much off against my wishes (like last time), so I found some self-trim tutorials on Youtube.
I studied the same technique over and over. It was the one where you tie a ponytail behind your head, carefully bring the band down to the very ends, then bring the ends over your shoulder, and trim as you choose..

I then gave it a try, cutting off maybe 2-3 inches, kinda to hip length. Now, I thought I did very well at first, but it soon became apparent that even though the hemline itself is blunt and straight, something must have gone wrong as I brought the ponytail over my shoulder, because there are different lengths towards the bottom of my hair..
It is not so noticeable when I wear my hair down, but I can tell when I braid my hair, and there is a lock sticking out towards the end where there didn't used to be.. I can also see the different lengths when I bring all my hair to the side, over my shoulder.

Such a small, silly mistake, yet I am really disappointed in myself, and I feel like I wish I had just gone to a salon now. Has anybody else had a hiccup with this method? Did you decide to then get your hair cut to the shortest part, or did you gradually trim over the months 'til the hemline was truly all one length again?

Feel so foolish!!
x

melusine963
May 27th, 2013, 02:49 PM