PDA

View Full Version : Healthy habits for small children

alinakathryn
August 29th, 2008, 04:02 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to LHC. I've just changed my routine to CO. I'm starting to see results. My hair is fairly damaged so it will take a little time before I see anything major. At least I'm seeing progress.

I would like to help my children keep the beautiful hair that they have now. My little ones are quite young, 2 and 3.5. Does anyone here have young children that you use the LHC methods of either CO or CWC on? Or any other LHC method? Have you found any tear free products that work for your methods? Tear free is currently still important in our house. We are in the process of growing out their bangs.

Thanks
Sarah

rubyann
August 29th, 2008, 08:59 PM
Hi and welcome to LHC, Sarah.

My dd is soon to be 6 years old with very curly hair. I've CO'd her exclusively since she was 2 or so.

What I do is this: use a cup or hand held shower to wet hair, glop on tons of conditioner, scrub/massage scalp with conditioner, work it through the length. We still use a dry wash cloth for the rinse out, she will fold it in two and place it over her face and tip her head all the way back while I rinse with cup or hand held shower head. This way absolutely no product or even water can get into her eyes. She's really freaky about getting water on her face in the shower, so this works well for us.

When I do the comb out of matted bed head in the morning, I mist thoroughly with water and then use a tiny bit of conditioner as leave in (same stuff we use in the shower), work it through her length and then comb out any tangles and either braid/ponytail or scrunch and wear down. Occasionally I'll use a dab of coconut oil on damp hair as a leave in. Some times I'll add a couple of squirts of AVG to the mister bottle before filling with hot water and shaking well before using. Her hair loves it!