PDA

View Full Version : Very rough dry ends but no splits?

skipper
May 22nd, 2013, 10:20 AM
I have been growing my naturally curly hair from buzz cut for the last 2 years and around 5 months in i (STUPIDLY) put hydrogen peroxide in my hair because i wanted light brown hair (my hair is dark brown) well i HATED my hair for like a year because it was dry, and the color did NOT suit me at all. i dyed it dark brown about 2 weeks after but it quickly faded away. Through all this time it was normal hair texture with slight dryness to the ends. About 14 months into growing it out i got my first half inch trim. it was a lot softer for months then recently 19 months into growing it out i noticed some parts of it are very soft from root to tip but in some areas it is rough and dry at the tip i got another trim i think it was a little over a half inch but i dont think the lady cut all the layers even i think she cut my bottom layers shorter and left the top just slightly trimmed. but it is really dry conditioner and deep treatments help i really dont want to cut it because i dont want to loose length but in the worst dryest part in the crown of my head it is dry 3 inches up the hair. there is still some light brown on the ends i think but for damaged dry ends like i have there are very few to no split ends!! :confused: i am wondering if it is because of my very healthy routine for my hair. hmm.. my question is should i sacrifice a 2 inch trim or just put up with the dry ends. and like i said some areas it is perfectly healthy from root to tip. what do you guys think :D

LadyCelestina
May 22nd, 2013, 11:53 AM
Not everybody is prone to splitting.Do you use hair products with a lot of protein? They made my ends freak out once.
Or the other side,have you tried a protein DT followed with a moisturizing one?

If your ends really bother you a lot,you can try microtrimming... it doesn't sound like it's going to help,but your ends might feel much nicer afterwards

jacqueline101